Brent E. + DNA Imagery Photoshoot : SALIGIA

Hey y’all!

So I just wanted to share a little something to the readers and followers of my humble blog (11 fabulous people and counting!). I figured that I’d do a sort of personal post about myself outside of sharing my thoughts on the books I’ve read, the films I’ve seen, the music I’ve heard, or any other pop culture tidbit that so happened to capture my discerning interest.

Anyway, you may have noticed from my previous posts that I’m a total sucker for all things fashion and style. And while I may not look like a model straight out of the European runways or glossy magazines, I have a vested interest in participating in photoshoots that allows me to strike a fierce pose. Oh, in case you’re wondering how I look like in real life, here’s a sample shot of me below:

Brent Black

While this isn’t exactly a recent picture of me (I think this is roughly circa 2010), certain elements are still present such as the bleached blonde hair and the shaved sides, but now more wider on top; kind of like the buzzed undercut hairstyle that TIlda Swinton usually sports. That, and the fact that I don’t sport a menacing stare and scowl all the time. I’m actually a cheerful and extroverted Leo. But I digress.

The series of photos below comprise my very first professional photoshoot a few years ago with a really talented studio run by a fun and creative young couple called Derren Ohanian and Ana Cardenas from Santa Barbara, California and together they form DNA Imagery. You should check out their official website and see their stuff because they are really, really, REALLY good when it comes to creating amazing visual media for a wide range of clients and social events.

In any case, I was pretty proud of my efforts as a first-time photographic subject, what with all those years of browsing through style blogs and poring over fashion magazines helped me to channel my inner editorial model self. The concept is basically me portraying each of the Seven Deadly Sins, with the last few photos of myself depicting the physical embodiment of all Seven vices combined: the Eighth Deadly Sin—or SALIGIA—in all his fierce potential. For this particular shoot, I suggested to Derren and Ana that we use poster paint to decorate my face for each shot. I remember the shoot being pretty fun to execute given that we had a few(!) shots of liquid courage to get us through the several hours that went into the creation of this beauty editorial. The official description of this shoot goes something like:

THE SEVEN DEADLY SINS.

Meet SALIGIA.

A hybrid between an ancient Egyptian pharaoh and a rebel punk rockstar with a splash of futuristic space partyphile raver and cross-cultural tribal warrior.

All it takes is the Fierce and Deadly Seven for this badass creature to lure you into a world of sin.

Have no fear. Commit them all…!

So that’s the backstory. Now look through the photos below and let me know what you guys think!

DNA Photo Shoot 02

SUPERBIA (Vanity)

Considered as the original and most serious of the seven deadly sins, and indeed the ultimate source from which the others arise. It is identified as a desire to be more important or attractive than others, failing to acknowledge the good work of others, and excessive love of oneself.

DNA Photo Shoot 03

AVARITIA (Greed)

A sin of excess defined by a very excessive or rapacious desire for the pursuit of wealth, status, and power.

DNA Photo Shoot 04

LUXURIA (Lust)

Defined by excessive thoughts or desires of a sexual nature.

DNA Photo Shoot 05

IRA (Wrath)

Described as inordinate and uncontrolled feelings of hatred and anger. In its purest form, this sin presents self-destructiveness, violence, hate, impatience, revenge, and vigilantism.

DNA Photo Shoot 06

GULA (Gluttony)

Labeled as the overindulgence and overconsumption of anything to the point of waste. This is considered a sin because of the excessive desire for food and its deliberate withholding from the needy.

DNA Photo Shoot 07

INVIDIA (Envy)

A generally passive-aggressive sin wherein those who commit Envy resent that another person has something they perceive themselves as lacking, and wish the other person to be deprived of it.

DNA Photo Shoot 08

ACEDIA (Sloth)

It is translated to apathetic listlessness, or depression without joy. The lack of joy was regarded as a willful refusal to enjoy the goodness of God and the world God created, and a failure to utilize any form of diligence and hard labor.

DNA Photo Shoot 01

SALIGIA ; the Eighth Deadly SIn

DNA Photo Shoot 09

SALIGIA in monochrome

DNA Photo Shoot 10

SALIGIA in technicolor

DNA Photo Shoot 12

Has the sinner become a… saint?

Humilitas… Caritas… Castitas… Patientia… Temperantia… Humanitas… Industria…

P.S.

Special shoutout to the first ten followers of my blog, namely:

Dimensions Planet Metaphysica

M60a3

Indie Abroad

At Least I’m Not Chris Moyles

The Baggage Handler

Cinema Schminema

Book Hub Inc.

The Evolution of Eloquence

The Citizens of Fashion

My Fashion Ink

With special mention to my BFF Kitty Young (OMG Totes Cute!) over yonder at Blogspot for keeping tabs on my blog as well.

Thanks guys for making a tiny yet awesome milestone on my WordPress sanctuary. I’ll be posting some new stuff pretty soon, especially reviews on some great movies I’ve seen recently. Hint: one is a major superhero summer blockbuster and the other is an amazing indie film that stars an actress who plays a live-action version of an Asian Disney Princess on a certain TV show. Hope you guys don’t give me too much flack for this little photoshoot of mine, and I’ll be back with more pop culture ramblings!

Ciao!

Leave a Reply

